Timeline to File Your Claim
The first and most important action you need to take following your accident is filing a wrongful death or personal injury claim, which you must do within two years of the day of your accident. If your injuries are serious, you may spend months going back and forth between medical facilities, doctor appointments, rehabilitation centers, etc. Although you have two years to file, it is important to file your claim as soon as possible after the accident in order to preserve your chances of successfully obtaining the compensation you need. This leaves you time to address complications that may arise and preserve evidence. It also allows you to provide evidence that could get your case dismissed.
Other Time-Sensitive Tasks Related to Your Claim
According to Oklahoma Statutes Title 47, Chapter 10, Section 107, when a driver is involved in an accident that causes death or injury, they must immediately report it to the local police or the nearest State Highway Patrol office. Under the following section (Title 47, Chapter 10, Section 108), affected persons are also required to report any damages totaling more than $300 to the Department of Public Safety within 6 months if the resulting lawsuit has not come to a settlement before that time. If a settlement has occurred, all parties involved must provide a written summary of the terms of the settlement to DPS.
Experienced Car Accident Lawyers in Oklahoma City
If you’ve been in a car accident and have suffered property damage or bodily injuries, there are a few important, time-sensitive processes you should be aware of. Our Oklahoma City car accident attorneys are here to help you keep track of all important deadlines, paperwork, and proceedings related to your claim. With us on your team, you don’t have to worry about missing anything.
Call the Law Offices of Dan Davis at (405) 531-9983 or send us your information to receive a free consultation today.